partner service



Aug 29

Guest Post – The Five Languages of Apology

Ever had someone say “I’m sorry” but their words don’t really hit the hurt spot that needed to hear an apology?  Sometimes these are just words; there is still a hole in the relationship.  “I’m sorry” becomes too easy, too general for the hurt caused. 

Dr Gary Chapman has written a book that addresses this very issue and offers a solution to help restore communication in relationships.

The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in all Your Relationships by Gary D. Chapman, Jennifer Thomas  (Jan 1, 2008)

Formats Price New Used
Eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping.
$14.99 $10.19 $8.20 $6.52
Kindle Edition Auto-delivered wirelessly $8.09

According to his own personal story, there are actually 5 different ways to say ‘Sorry’ so that the person really hears the message.  After a disagreement with her husband, his wife’s apology didn’t seem to convey the depth needed to restore the relationship.

Sometimes, “I’m sorry” means other things.

“I’m sorry I got caught.”  Or “I’m sorry, now I’ll have to pay the fine.”  “I’m sorry you don’t see this my way because you are so wrong and I’m right.”  Parents and teachers, and many others of course, hit this wall.  “I’m sorry” but without the added “I’ll learn from this mistake and not do it again.”

This caused him to start thinking that maybe there were other things people needed to release an offense and accept the words spoken.  From his resulting survey, he found there are actually five different ways for the apology to be delivered for a sense of completeness or release to happen.

1.  To express regret that the incident happened: “I’m sorry it happened.”

2.  To take the responsibility for what went wrong: “I was wrong.”

3.  To make restitution for the incident: “What can I do to make it right?”

4.  Sincere, genuine repenting: “I’ll try not to do it again.

    ” I’ll aim to turn away from such behaviour and do different from now on.”

5.  Request forgiveness and hearing the words: “Will you forgive me?”

 We all have different ‘Love Languages’ and now you can learn what your ‘Apology Language’ contains to help restore the connection in relationships.

 Susanne Fengler, Blog Author

Thanks to Sharon White for sharing her latest Life Changing Christian Book!

PS.  Another good comment on the book:

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>